The majority voted against a motion introduced by Greens Senator Christine Milne, which means that it was rejected. The motion was:

That the Senate-

(a) condemns North Korea’s nuclear weapons test;

(b) notes:

(i) the increasing threat of nuclear conflict globally,

(ii) that International Atomic Energy Agency statistics reveal that there have been 300 seizures of smuggled radioactive material capable of making a ‘dirty’ bomb since 2002 and that the rate of seizures has doubled since this time,

(iii) the call from Al Qaeda’s chief in Iraq for nuclear scientists and explosives experts to join his Jihad against the West, and his comment that American bases in Iraq are good places to test unconventional weapons, and

(iv) that the Prime Minister (Mr Howard) has undermined the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty by expressing a willingness to consider the sale of uranium to India, which is not a signatory to the Treaty and which, together with Pakistan, staged the last nuclear break-out in 1998; and

(c) calls on the Government to:

(i) dismantle the Prime Minister’s Taskforce conducting the Uranium Mining, Processing and Nuclear Energy Review,

(ii) reject any proposition by the United States of America about Australia becoming a nuclear fuel supply centre under President George W Bush’s Global Nuclear Energy Partnership, and

(iii) abandon its support for the sale of uranium to India.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (85% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Mark Bishop WA No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Gavin Marshall Victoria Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (59% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Judith Adams WA No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Guy Barnett Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Grant Chapman SA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (72% turnout) 7 Yes – 48 No