The majority voted against a motion that called for the Government "to address the wages paid to child care workers before supplementing the salary advantages paid to politicians". The motion was introduced by Greens Senator Bob Brown.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes, with concern:

(i) that child care workers remain among the lowest paid Australians, earning as little as $541 per week,

(ii) that women working in child care are likely to accumulate some of the lowest levels of superannuation in Australia,

(iii) that a politician who entered parliament at the 2004 election, aged 30, and who retires at 65 would have received a superannuation lump sum of $670 211 but would now receive a lump sum of $1 117 000 under the new 15 per cent contribution regime, and

(iv) the statement by the Prime Minister (Mr Howard) that low wages adversely affect the gene pool of those drawn to particular occupations; and

(b) calls on the Government to address the wages paid to child care workers before supplementing the salary advantages paid to politicians.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Andrew Murray WA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Trish Crossin NT No
John Faulkner NSW No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Absent
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Absent
Liberal Party (66% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Gary Humphries ACT No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (60% turnout) 0 Yes 3 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (71% turnout) 7 Yes – 47 No