An equal number of senators voted 'aye' and 'no' for an amendment moved by Australian Democrats Senator Andrew Murray, which means that it was unsuccessful. The amendment related to abuse of market power, unconscionable conduct and price monitoring in relation to petroleum marketing.(Read the discussion on these amendments here. It begins after 8:24 pm. )

One senator, Nationals Senator Barnaby Joyce, rebelled and crossed the floor to vote 'aye' in this division.(Read more about what it means to cross the floor in our FAQ Section. )

Background to the bill

This bill was introduced to repeal the Petroleum Retail Marketing Franchise Act 1980 and Petroleum Retail Marketing Sites Act 1980 and replace them with a mandatory industry code to regulate the industry.(Read more about the background to the bill in its bills digest (117 KB). More information, including its explanatory memorandum, is available here.)


Votes Not passed

There was 1 rebellion in this division.

  • Barnaby Joyce voted Yes against the majority of the National Party.
Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (85% turnout) 23 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Chris Evans WA Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Robert Ray Victoria Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
George Campbell NSW Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Glenn Sterle WA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (84% turnout) 0 Yes 27 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Ian Campbell WA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Chris Ellison WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Santo Santoro Queensland No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Kay Patterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 1 Yes 4 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Yes
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (87% turnout) 33 Yes – 33 No