The majority voted against disallowing Schedules 1 and 3 to the Parliamentary Entitlements Amendment Regulations 2006 (No. 1), which means that these Regulations would remain unchanged.

The motion was introduced jointly by Labor Senator Chris Evans, Greens Senator Bob Brown and Australian Democrats Senator Andrew Murray.

What does this motion mean?

This motion asked the Senate to agree to stop Schedules 1 and 3 having legal force.

Schedule 1 increases the House of Representatives' printing entitlements to $150,000 per member per year (from $125,000 per member per year). And as Senator Evans explained, "it also introduces a provision that allows the member to roll over 45 per cent of their unused entitlement from one year into the following year".

Schedule 3 changes the Senate's printing entitlements. Senator Evans explained that "[t]he new arrangements move from a cap on the reams of paper and printing via the Senate printing office, which senators have access to, to a universal cap of $20,000 per annum for all printing requirements." Labor Senator Kim Carr discused the changes in more detail and the new limits it puts on senators' capacity to print.

Motion text

That Schedules 1 and 3 to the Parliamentary Entitlements Amendment Regulations 2006 (No. 1), as contained in Select Legislative Instrument 2006 No. 211 and made under the Parliamentary Entitlements Act 1990, be disallowed.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Lyn Allison Victoria Absent
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Bob Brown Tasmania Absent
Australian Labor Party (78% turnout) 21 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
George Campbell NSW Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
John Faulkner NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Kate Lundy ACT Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Robert Ray Victoria Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Dana Wortley SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Yes
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (81% turnout) 0 Yes 26 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Ian Campbell WA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Helen Coonan NSW No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Nick Minchin SA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (79% turnout) 29 Yes – 31 No