The majority voted against the motion introduced by Greens Senator Bob Brown to take immediate action to investigate logging practices in Papua New Guinea.

Wording of the motion

That the Senate—

(a) recognises that the logging of ancient rainforests in Papua New Guinea (PNG) is driving biodiversity loss and human rights abuses in that country at an alarming rate;

(b) notes that:

(i) PNG and Australian conservation and community groups have filed a formal complaint with the Australian National Contact Point for the OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises against the Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Limited (ANZ), and

(ii) the complaint alleges that the ANZ is actively facilitating and supporting the PNG operations of Malaysian logging giant Rimbunan Hijau, a company whose operations involve serious human rights abuses, environmentally-destructive logging practices and repeated serious conduct;

(c) supports the actions of the conservation and community groups in bringing this potential breach of the guidelines to the Government’s attention; and

(d) calls on the Government to take immediate action to investigate the allegations with a view to ending the forest destruction and human rights abuses occurring in PNG.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (89% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Mark Bishop WA No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
John Faulkner NSW No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
Joe Ludwig Queensland Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Absent
Liberal Party (75% turnout) 0 Yes 24 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (82% turnout) 8 Yes – 54 No