The majority voted against disapproving clause 2.2 of a determination made by the Remunerations Tribunal.

The explanatory memorandum for this determination explained that:

Clause 2.2 ... reflect[s] the outcomes of the Remuneration Tribunal’s annual review of remuneration ... [T]he upper end of the bands for both superannuation salary and total remuneration have been increased by 4.4 per cent (rounded up).

So this motion was against the 4.4% pay rise for public office holders and Members of Parliament, but the majority disagreed and the motion was unsuccessful.

What does this mean?

Greens Senator Bob Brown introduced the motion and explained:

The Remuneration Tribunal has made two determinations on pay rises. The first was No. 9, which was made on 23 May and was for a 2.5 per cent rise for MPs, and the second was made on 20 June and was for a 4.4 per cent rise. These came into effect on 1 July because of the government’s motion and were effectively retrospective. This motion of disallowance is dealing with that 4.4 per cent rise, the second rise, and would, if successful, leave MPs with the 2.5 per cent increase.

Effectively what the government announced was a seven per cent pay rise. The latest pay increases would put the Prime Minister’s salary up by more than $20,000 to about $309,000, and the Leader of the Opposition’s salary would go up by $14,000 to about $220,000.

Motion text

That clause 2.2 of Determination 2006/11: Remuneration and Allowances for Holders of Public Office and Members of Parliament, made pursuant to subsections 5(2A), 7(1), 7(3), 7(3D) and 7(4) of the Remuneration Tribunal Act 1973, be disapproved.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Lyn Allison Victoria No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland No
Andrew Murray WA No
Natasha Stott Despoja SA No
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (85% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Mark Bishop WA No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Chris Evans WA No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Helen Polley Tasmania Absent
Penny Wong SA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (59% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
George Brandis Queensland Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Brett Mason Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Ron Boswell Queensland Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (75% turnout) 5 Yes – 52 No