The majority voted against amendments introduced by Greens Senator Kerry Nettle.

Senator Nettle explained that these amendments "abolish the private health insurance rebate". She argued that this money used to pay this rebate should be "spent on ensuring that we have a quality public health system that all Australians can use".(Read Senator Nettle's full explanation of these amendments here. )

Because the majority voted against these amendments, they were unsuccessful.

Background to the bill

The bill expands the powers of the Private Health Insurance Ombudsman when dealing with complaints and conducting investigations on their own initiative or at the Minister’s request, particularly in relation to health care providers or brokers. It also allows additional time for Medicare Australia to provide the Australian Taxation Office with information regarding private health insurance rebates.(Read more about the bill in its bills digest (84.4 KB).)

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Yes
Andrew Murray WA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (74% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
Trish Crossin NT No
Chris Evans WA No
John Faulkner NSW No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
George Campbell NSW Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Robert Ray Victoria Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (63% turnout) 0 Yes 20 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
David Johnston WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Santo Santoro Queensland No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
John Watson Tasmania No
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Gary Humphries ACT Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Russell Trood Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (71% turnout) 7 Yes – 47 No