The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Lyn Allison, which means it was unsuccessful.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) recognises that according to the recently released report, Counting the costs of tobacco and the benefits of reducing smoking prevalence in Victoria:

(i) the total social costs of smoking in Victoria in the 1998-99 financial year were approximately $5.05 billion,

(ii) of the total Victorian costs, approximately 45 per cent were avoidable,

(iii) as a result of Victorian smoking, federal smoking-attributable expenditures exceeded smoking attributable revenues by approximately $160 million in the 1998-99 financial year, and

(iv) under the most conservative method of estimation, the benefits of the reduction in smoking prevalence would be $2 034 million, or $10 291 for each person prevented from smoking by anti-smoking interventions; and

(b) calls on the Government to increase the proportion of smoking-related revenue that is allocated to anti-smoking interventions.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (74% turnout) 20 Yes 0 No
Mark Bishop WA Yes
Carol Brown Tasmania Yes
Kim Carr Victoria Yes
Stephen Conroy Victoria Yes
Trish Crossin NT Yes
Michael Forshaw NSW Yes
Annette Hurley SA Yes
Steve Hutchins NSW Yes
Linda Kirk SA Yes
Joe Ludwig Queensland Yes
Gavin Marshall Victoria Yes
Anne McEwen SA Yes
Jan McLucas Queensland Yes
Claire Moore Queensland Yes
Helen Polley Tasmania Yes
Ursula Stephens NSW Yes
Glenn Sterle WA Yes
Ruth Webber WA Yes
Penny Wong SA Yes
Dana Wortley SA Yes
George Campbell NSW Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Kate Lundy ACT Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Robert Ray Victoria Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President Absent
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Yes
Liberal Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
Cory Bernardi SA No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Rod Kemp Victoria No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Mitch Fifield Victoria Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 5 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Sandy Macdonald NSW No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (76% turnout) 28 Yes – 30 No