This division is yet to be summarised. Believe it or not there is no easy to understand explanation of every vote in our parliament. If you’d like to know more about this division, reading the preceding debate may be helpful. You can help everybody by improving this resource—provide a summary of what was voted on in this division.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Andrew Bartlett Queensland No
Natasha Stott Despoja SA No
Lyn Allison Victoria Absent
Andrew Murray WA Absent
Australian Greens (50% turnout) 0 Yes 2 No
Christine Milne Tasmania No
Rachel Siewert WA No
Bob Brown Tasmania Absent
Kerry Nettle NSW Absent
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Mark Bishop WA No
George Campbell NSW No
Stephen Conroy Victoria No
Chris Evans WA No
John Faulkner NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Carol Brown Tasmania Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Trish Crossin NT Absent
Michael Forshaw NSW Absent
Steve Hutchins NSW Absent
Jan McLucas Queensland Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party Yes
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Absent
Liberal Party (61% turnout) 19 Yes 0 No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Yes
Judith Adams WA Yes
Guy Barnett Tasmania Yes
George Brandis Queensland Yes
Grant Chapman SA Yes
Richard Colbeck Tasmania Yes
Alan Ferguson SA Yes
Jeannie Ferris SA Yes
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW Yes
Mitch Fifield Victoria Yes
Bill Heffernan NSW Yes
Gary Humphries ACT Yes
Brett Mason Queensland Yes
Stephen Parry Tasmania Yes
Michael Ronaldson Victoria Yes
Santo Santoro Queensland Yes
Judith Troeth Victoria Yes
Russell Trood Queensland Yes
John Watson Tasmania Yes
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
David Johnston WA Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Ross Lightfoot WA Absent
Ian Macdonald Queensland Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Kay Patterson Victoria Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (40% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Ron Boswell Queensland Yes
Fiona Nash NSW Yes
Barnaby Joyce Queensland Absent
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Julian McGauran Victoria Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (61% turnout) 22 Yes – 24 No