The majority voted against a motion introduced by Australian Democrats Senator Lyn Allison, which means it was rejected.

Motion text

That the Senate—

(a) notes:

(i) the current speculation about Iran’s capabilities and intentions with regard to its possible development of nuclear weapons,

(ii) with deep concern, the threat of military action being considered against Iran, including the possible use of tactical nuclear weapons, and

(iii) successive resolutions in the United Nations General Assembly on negative security assurances and guarantees from the nuclear weapon states that nuclear weapons will never be used against non-nuclear armed states, and the importance of that principle in ensuring that non-nuclear weapon states have no motive to acquire nuclear weapons;

(b) urges the Government to pursue a resolution of the Iranian crisis based on the following principles:

(i) no use of any military intervention whatsoever by any party, for any reason,

(ii) a clear commitment by all nuclear-armed parties not to use nuclear weapons in this situation, and to recommit to the doctrine of no ‘first use’ of nuclear weapons,

(iii) a clear commitment by all parties to the global elimination of nuclear weapons, including reaffirmation of the Final Declaration of the 2000 Non-Proliferation Treaty Review conference, and relevant UN General Assembly resolutions, including the L28 resolution sponsored by Japan and Australia,

(iv) the implementation of the 1995 Non-Proliferation Treaty Resolution on a nuclear-weapon-free zone in the Middle East, implementation of the annual consensus-adopted UN General Assembly resolutions on the ‘Establishment of a nuclear-weapon-free zone in the region of the Middle East’,

(v) a diplomatic path to the removal of tensions between the United States of America, Israel and Iran, involving compromise on all sides (except where the development or threat of nuclear weapons is concerned), recognising the legitimate security concerns of all parties including Israel and Iran, and refraining absolutely from inflammatory statements, and

(vi) encouragement of all states parties to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty to remain within that framework and all non-states parties to join that regime; and

(c) conveys the text of this resolution to all UN Security Council missions and their foreign ministers or secretaries of state, and the Governments of Iran and Israel.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Lyn Allison Victoria Yes
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Yes
Andrew Murray WA Yes
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 4 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Yes
Australian Labor Party (70% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Kim Carr Victoria No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Nick Sherry Tasmania Absent
Ursula Stephens NSW Absent
Ruth Webber WA Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party No
Liberal Party (72% turnout) 0 Yes 23 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Alan Eggleston WA No
Alan Ferguson SA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Bill Heffernan NSW No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Marise Payne NSW No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Judith Troeth Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
Amanda Vanstone SA No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Chris Ellison WA Absent
Robert Hill SA Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
John Watson Tasmania Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President Absent
Totals (74% turnout) 7 Yes – 49 No