The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Greens Senator Christine Milne, which means that it was rejected. The motion was:

That the Senate—

(a) notes that:

(i) India is not a signatory to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty,

(ii) the President of the United States of America (US), George W Bush, will visit India in the week beginning 26 February 2006 to advance sales of US nuclear power technology to India, and

(iii) the Prime Minister (Mr Howard) intends to visit India where the Australian Government hopes to facilitate uranium export contracts; and

(b) calls on the Government to:

(i) cease pressuring the state and territory governments to permit the expansion of uranium mining, and

(ii) cease activities that deliberately undermine the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty.

Votes Not passed by a large majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Democrats (0% turnout) Absent
Lyn Allison Victoria Absent
Andrew Bartlett Queensland Absent
Andrew Murray WA Absent
Natasha Stott Despoja SA Absent
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Bob Brown Tasmania Yes
Christine Milne Tasmania Yes
Kerry Nettle NSW Yes
Rachel Siewert WA Absent
Australian Labor Party (78% turnout) 0 Yes 21 No
Carol Brown Tasmania No
George Campbell NSW No
Trish Crossin NT No
Michael Forshaw NSW No
Annette Hurley SA No
Steve Hutchins NSW No
Linda Kirk SA No
Joe Ludwig Queensland No
Kate Lundy ACT No
Gavin Marshall Victoria No
Anne McEwen SA No
Jan McLucas Queensland No
Claire Moore Queensland No
Helen Polley Tasmania No
Robert Ray Victoria No
Nick Sherry Tasmania No
Ursula Stephens NSW No
Glenn Sterle WA No
Ruth Webber WA No
Penny Wong SA No
Dana Wortley SA No
Mark Bishop WA Absent
Kim Carr Victoria Absent
Stephen Conroy Victoria Absent
Chris Evans WA Absent
John Faulkner NSW Absent
Kerry O'Brien Tasmania Absent
Nigel Scullion NT Country Liberal Party No
John Hogg Queensland Deputy President No
Steve Fielding Victoria Family First Party Absent
Liberal Party (59% turnout) 0 Yes 19 No
Judith Adams WA No
Guy Barnett Tasmania No
George Brandis Queensland No
Grant Chapman SA No
Richard Colbeck Tasmania No
Chris Ellison WA No
Jeannie Ferris SA No
Concetta Fierravanti-Wells NSW No
Mitch Fifield Victoria No
Gary Humphries ACT No
David Johnston WA No
Ross Lightfoot WA No
Ian Macdonald Queensland No
Brett Mason Queensland No
Stephen Parry Tasmania No
Kay Patterson Victoria No
Michael Ronaldson Victoria No
Russell Trood Queensland No
John Watson Tasmania No
Eric Abetz Tasmania Absent
Ian Campbell WA Absent
Helen Coonan NSW Absent
Alan Eggleston WA Absent
Alan Ferguson SA Absent
Bill Heffernan NSW Absent
Robert Hill SA Absent
Rod Kemp Victoria Absent
Nick Minchin SA Absent
Marise Payne NSW Absent
Santo Santoro Queensland Absent
Judith Troeth Victoria Absent
Amanda Vanstone SA Absent
National Party (80% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Ron Boswell Queensland No
Barnaby Joyce Queensland No
Julian McGauran Victoria No
Fiona Nash NSW No
Sandy Macdonald NSW Absent
Paul Calvert Tasmania President No
Totals (66% turnout) 3 Yes – 47 No