The majority voted against amendments introduced by Barker MP Tony Pasin (Liberal), which means they failed.

What do the amendments do?

Mr Pasin explained that:

The coalition amendments to this bill give effect to an extension of the instant asset write-off to 26,500 medium businesses and extend the value of assets eligible to $30,000.

Amendment text

(1) Schedule 1, heading, page 4 (lines 1 and 2), omit "$20,000 instant asset write-off for small business entities", substitute "$30,000 instant asset write-off for small and medium business entities".

(2) Schedule 1, page 4 (after line 2), after item 2, insert:

2A After subsection 328-180(3)


Extension to medium business entities

(3A) If you are an entity covered by subsection (3B) for an income year, then for the purposes of doing any of the following:

(a) deducting under subsection 328-180(1) of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 a proportion of the adjustable value of a depreciating asset for an income year in circumstances where paragraph (4)(d) of this section applies to you and the asset;

(b) deducting under subsection 328-180(2) of that Act a proportion of an amount included in the second element of the cost for an asset in circumstances where paragraph (5)(e) of this section applies to you and the amount;

(c) applying subsection 328-180(3) of that Act to you and an asset in circumstances where:

(i) paragraph (5)(e) of this section applies to you and an amount included in the second element of the asset's cost; and

(ii) paragraph (6)(e) of this section applies to you for a deduction for the asset for an income year;

Subdivision 328-D of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 applies to you for an income year and the asset as if you were a small business entity for the income year.

(3B) An entity is covered by this subsection for an income year if:

(a) the entity is not a small business entity for the income year; and

(b) the entity would be a small business entity for the income year if:

(i) each reference in Subdivision 328-C of the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (about what is a small business entity) to $10 million were instead a reference to $50 million; and

(ii) the reference in paragraph 328-110(5)(b) of that Act to a small business entity were instead a reference to an entity covered by this subsection.

(3) Schedule 1, item 4, page 4 (line 15), omit "$20,000", substitute "$30,000".

(4) Schedule 1, item 5, page 4 (line 24), omit "$20,000", substitute "$30,000".

(5) Schedule 1, item 6, page 5 (line 1), omit "$20,000", substitute "$30,000".

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (75% turnout) 3 Yes 0 No
Adam Bandt Melbourne Yes
Stephen Bates Brisbane Yes
Elizabeth Watson-Brown Ryan Yes
Max Chandler-Mather Griffith Absent
Australian Labor Party (92% turnout) 0 Yes 71 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Anne Aly Cowan No
Michelle Ananda-Rajah Higgins No
Chris Bowen McMahon No
Tony Burke Watson No
Josh Burns Macnamara No
Mark Butler Hindmarsh No
Alison Byrnes Cunningham No
Jim Chalmers Rankin No
Andrew Charlton Parramatta No
Lisa Chesters Bendigo No
Sharon Claydon Newcastle No
Libby Coker Corangamite No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Pat Conroy Shortland No
Mary Doyle Aston No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Cassandra Fernando Holt No
Mike Freelander Macarthur No
Carina Garland Chisholm No
Steve Georganas Adelaide No
Andrew Giles Scullin No
Patrick Gorman Perth No
Luke Gosling Solomon No
Julian Hill Bruce No
Ed Husic Chifley No
Stephen Jones Whitlam No
Ged Kearney Cooper No
Matt Keogh Burt No
Peter Khalil Wills No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Madeleine King Brand No
Tania Lawrence Hasluck No
Jerome Laxale Bennelong No
Andrew Leigh Fenner No
Sam Lim Tangney No
Zaneta Mascarenhas Swan No
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro No
Emma McBride Dobell No
Louise Miller-Frost Boothby No
Brian Mitchell Lyons No
Rob Mitchell McEwen No
Daniel Mulino Fraser No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Clare O'Neil Hotham No
Alicia Payne Canberra No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Fiona Phillips Gilmore No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Sam Rae Hawke No
Gordon Reid Robertson No
Dan Repacholi Hunter No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Tracey Roberts Pearce No
Michelle Rowland Greenway No
Joanne Ryan Lalor No
Marion Scrymgour Lingiari No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
Sally Sitou Reid No
David Smith Bean No
Anne Stanley Werriwa No
Meryl Swanson Paterson No
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith No
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tim Watts Gellibrand No
Anika Wells Lilley No
Josh Wilson Fremantle No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Matt Burnell Spence Absent
Linda Burney Barton Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Susan Templeman Macquarie Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance Absent
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Yes
Russell Broadbent Monash Independent Yes
Kate Chaney Curtin Independent Yes
Zoe Daniel Goldstein Independent Yes
Andrew Gee Calare Independent Yes
Monique Ryan Kooyong Independent Yes
Sophie Scamps Mackellar Independent Yes
Allegra Spender Wentworth Independent Yes
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent Yes
Kylea Tink North Sydney Independent Yes
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Dai Le Fowler Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Yes
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff Yes
Colin Boyce Flynn Yes
Cameron Caldwell Fadden Yes
Garth Hamilton Groom Yes
Henry Pike Bowman Yes
Phillip Thompson Herbert Yes
Andrew Wallace Fisher Yes
Andrew Willcox Dawson Yes
Terry Young Longman Yes
Liberal Party (91% turnout) 30 Yes 0 No
Karen Andrews McPherson Yes
Bridget Archer Bass Yes
Scott Buchholz Wright Yes
David Coleman Banks Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Yes
Ian Goodenough Moore Yes
Andrew Hastie Canning Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
Luke Howarth Petrie Yes
Julian Leeser Berowra Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Yes
Zoe McKenzie Flinders Yes
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Yes
Tony Pasin Barker Yes
Gavin Pearce Braddon Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
James Stevens Sturt Yes
Michael Sukkar Deakin Yes
Angus Taylor Hume Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Aaron Violi Casey Yes
Jenny Ware Hughes Yes
Rick Wilson O'Connor Yes
Keith Wolahan Menzies Yes
Jason Wood La Trobe Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
National Party (83% turnout) 10 Yes 0 No
Sam Birrell Nicholls Yes
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
Pat Conaghan Cowper Yes
Kevin Hogan Page Yes
Barnaby Joyce New England Yes
Michelle Landry Capricornia Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Yes
Keith Pitt Hinkler Yes
Anne Webster Mallee Yes
David Gillespie Lyne Absent
David Littleproud Maranoa Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Speaker Absent
Totals (90% turnout) 63 Yes – 73 No