The majority voted in favour of a motion introduced by Watson MP Tony Burke (Labor), which means it passed. This means that the usual procedural rules - known as standing orders - will be suspended and the timetable set out below will take place instead.

Motion text

That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the following from occurring in relation to proceedings on the Fair Work Legislation Amendment (Secure Jobs, Better Pay) Bill 2022:

(1) on Tuesday, 8 November when the bill is called on, the Leader of the Opposition, or a Member representing, speaking for no longer than 30 minutes;

(2) the time limit for other Members speaking on the second reading debate being 10 minutes;

(3) on Wednesday, 9 November, the second reading debate continuing when the bill is called on;

(4) notwithstanding standing order 31, at 8 pm on Wednesday, 9 November, the bill being called on for further consideration;

(5) the second reading debate continuing until either:

(a) no further Members rise to speak; or

(b) a Minister requires that the debate be adjourned at no earlier than 10 pm, at which point, debate being adjourned and the House immediately adjourning until Thursday, 10 November at 9 am;

(6) from 9 pm on Wednesday, 9 November, the time limit for Members speaking on the second reading debate being 5 minutes;

(7) from 7.30 pm on Wednesday, 9 November until the adjournment of the House:

(a) any division called for being deferred until the first opportunity on Thursday, 10 November; and

(b) if any Member draws the attention of the Speaker to the state of the House, the Speaker announcing that he will count the House at the first opportunity on Thursday, 10 November, if the Member then so desires;

(8) on Thursday, 10 November when the bill is called on, questions being immediately put on any amendments moved to the motion for the second reading and on the second reading of the bill;

(9) if required, a consideration in detail stage of the bill, with all government amendments to be moved together, all opposition amendments to be moved together, and any crossbench Members' amendments to be moved as one set per Member, with:

(a) one question to be put on all government amendments;

(b) one question to be put on all opposition amendments;

(c) separate questions to be put on any sets of amendments moved by crossbench Members; and

(d) one question to be put that the bill [as amended] be agreed to.

(10) should a Minister require, any question provided for under paragraph (9) being put after no less than 10 minutes of debate on each set of amendments;

(11) when the bill has been agreed to, the question being put immediately on the third reading of the bill; and

(12) any variation to this arrangement being made only on a motion moved by a Minister.

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Adam Bandt Melbourne No
Stephen Bates Brisbane No
Max Chandler-Mather Griffith No
Elizabeth Watson-Brown Ryan No
Australian Labor Party (95% turnout) 72 Yes 0 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Michelle Ananda-Rajah Higgins Yes
Chris Bowen McMahon Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Matt Burnell Spence Yes
Linda Burney Barton Yes
Josh Burns Macnamara Yes
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Yes
Alison Byrnes Cunningham Yes
Jim Chalmers Rankin Yes
Andrew Charlton Parramatta Yes
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Yes
Libby Coker Corangamite Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Cassandra Fernando Holt Yes
Mike Freelander Macarthur Yes
Carina Garland Chisholm Yes
Steve Georganas Adelaide Yes
Andrew Giles Scullin Yes
Patrick Gorman Perth Yes
Luke Gosling Solomon Yes
Julian Hill Bruce Yes
Ed Husic Chifley Yes
Stephen Jones Whitlam Yes
Ged Kearney Cooper Yes
Matt Keogh Burt Yes
Peter Khalil Wills Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Tania Lawrence Hasluck Yes
Jerome Laxale Bennelong Yes
Andrew Leigh Fenner Yes
Sam Lim Tangney Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Zaneta Mascarenhas Swan Yes
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro Yes
Emma McBride Dobell Yes
Louise Miller-Frost Boothby Yes
Brian Mitchell Lyons Yes
Rob Mitchell McEwen Yes
Daniel Mulino Fraser Yes
Shayne Neumann Blair Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Clare O'Neil Hotham Yes
Alicia Payne Canberra Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Sam Rae Hawke Yes
Gordon Reid Robertson Yes
Dan Repacholi Hunter Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Tracey Roberts Pearce Yes
Michelle Rowland Greenway Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Marion Scrymgour Lingiari Yes
Sally Sitou Reid Yes
David Smith Bean Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Meryl Swanson Paterson Yes
Susan Templeman Macquarie Yes
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Yes
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Tim Watts Gellibrand Yes
Anika Wells Lilley Yes
Josh Wilson Fremantle Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Anne Aly Cowan Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker No
Kate Chaney Curtin Independent No
Zoe Daniel Goldstein Independent No
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Dai Le Fowler Independent No
Monique Ryan Kooyong Independent No
Sophie Scamps Mackellar Independent No
Allegra Spender Wentworth Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Kylea Tink North Sydney Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party No
Liberal National Party (100% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
Angie Bell Moncrieff No
Colin Boyce Flynn No
Garth Hamilton Groom No
Henry Pike Bowman No
Phillip Thompson Herbert No
Andrew Wallace Fisher No
Andrew Willcox Dawson No
Terry Young Longman No
Liberal Party (83% turnout) 0 Yes 30 No
Karen Andrews McPherson No
Bridget Archer Bass No
Russell Broadbent Monash No
Scott Buchholz Wright No
David Coleman Banks No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Paul Fletcher Bradfield No
Ian Goodenough Moore No
Andrew Hastie Canning No
Alex Hawke Mitchell No
Julian Leeser Berowra No
Nola Marino Forrest No
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay No
Scott Morrison Cook No
Ted O'Brien Fairfax No
Tony Pasin Barker No
Gavin Pearce Braddon No
Melissa Price Durack No
Rowan Ramsey Grey No
Stuart Robert Fadden No
James Stevens Sturt No
Michael Sukkar Deakin No
Angus Taylor Hume No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Aaron Violi Casey No
Jenny Ware Hughes No
Rick Wilson O'Connor No
Keith Wolahan Menzies No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Zoe McKenzie Flinders Absent
Dan Tehan Wannon Absent
Alan Tudge Aston Absent
Bert Van Manen Forde Absent
National Party (92% turnout) 0 Yes 12 No
Sam Birrell Nicholls No
Pat Conaghan Cowper No
Andrew Gee Calare No
David Gillespie Lyne No
Kevin Hogan Page No
Barnaby Joyce New England No
Michelle Landry Capricornia No
David Littleproud Maranoa No
Michael McCormack Riverina No
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay No
Keith Pitt Hinkler No
Anne Webster Mallee No
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Speaker Absent
Totals (92% turnout) 72 Yes – 67 No