The majority voted in favour of disagreeing with a motion:

That the Export Control (Animals) Amendment (Northern Hemisphere Summer Prohibition) Rules 2022 made under the Export Control Act 2020 on 5 April 2022 and presented to the House on 26 July 2022, be disallowed.

To disallow with a motion is to stop it from having legal force. Because this motion failed, the rules will continue.

Why was this motion introduced?

Clark MP Andrew Wilkie (Independent), who introduced the motion, explained his reasoning:

in April 2022—this year!—the then coalition government made regulations which effectively reduced the live-export prohibition period during the Northern Hemisphere summer? I remind members that those regulations made by the previous government allowed Australian exporters to take sheep through the Red Sea to Israel for that two-week period from 1 to 14 June, which had been previously banned. Moreover, in terms of the ban on exporting to some Persian Gulf destinations, including Qatar—although not the major live export ports of Oman and Kuwait—live exporting was allowed to begin a week earlier, on 22 May, this year. Effectively, this means there was an 11-day reduction in the prohibition on exporting sheep to Qatar and a 14-day reduction in the prohibition on exporting sheep to Red Sea destinations.

Votes Passed by a modest majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Greens (100% turnout) 0 Yes 4 No
Adam Bandt Melbourne No
Stephen Bates Brisbane No
Max Chandler-Mather Griffith No
Elizabeth Watson-Brown Ryan No
Australian Labor Party (12% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Anne Aly Cowan Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Madeleine King Brand Yes
Jerome Laxale Bennelong Yes
Dan Repacholi Hunter Yes
Joanne Ryan Lalor Yes
Marion Scrymgour Lingiari Yes
Sally Sitou Reid Yes
Anne Stanley Werriwa Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Absent
Michelle Ananda-Rajah Higgins Absent
Chris Bowen McMahon Absent
Matt Burnell Spence Absent
Linda Burney Barton Absent
Josh Burns Macnamara Absent
Mark Butler Hindmarsh Absent
Alison Byrnes Cunningham Absent
Jim Chalmers Rankin Absent
Andrew Charlton Parramatta Absent
Lisa Chesters Bendigo Absent
Jason Clare Blaxland Absent
Sharon Claydon Newcastle Absent
Libby Coker Corangamite Absent
Julie Collins Franklin Absent
Pat Conroy Shortland Absent
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Absent
Justine Elliot Richmond Absent
Cassandra Fernando Holt Absent
Mike Freelander Macarthur Absent
Carina Garland Chisholm Absent
Steve Georganas Adelaide Absent
Andrew Giles Scullin Absent
Patrick Gorman Perth Absent
Luke Gosling Solomon Absent
Julian Hill Bruce Absent
Ed Husic Chifley Absent
Stephen Jones Whitlam Absent
Ged Kearney Cooper Absent
Matt Keogh Burt Absent
Peter Khalil Wills Absent
Catherine King Ballarat Absent
Tania Lawrence Hasluck Absent
Andrew Leigh Fenner Absent
Sam Lim Tangney Absent
Richard Marles Corio Absent
Zaneta Mascarenhas Swan Absent
Kristy McBain Eden-Monaro Absent
Emma McBride Dobell Absent
Louise Miller-Frost Boothby Absent
Brian Mitchell Lyons Absent
Rob Mitchell McEwen Absent
Daniel Mulino Fraser Absent
Peta Murphy Dunkley Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Absent
Clare O'Neil Hotham Absent
Alicia Payne Canberra Absent
Graham Perrett Moreton Absent
Fiona Phillips Gilmore Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Sam Rae Hawke Absent
Gordon Reid Robertson Absent
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Absent
Tracey Roberts Pearce Absent
Michelle Rowland Greenway Absent
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Absent
David Smith Bean Absent
Meryl Swanson Paterson Absent
Susan Templeman Macquarie Absent
Matt Thistlethwaite Kingsford Smith Absent
Kate Thwaites Jagajaga Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Tim Watts Gellibrand Absent
Anika Wells Lilley Absent
Josh Wilson Fremantle Absent
Tony Zappia Makin Absent
Rebekha Sharkie Mayo Centre Alliance No
Mark Coulton Parkes Deputy Speaker Yes
Kate Chaney Curtin Independent Yes
Zoe Daniel Goldstein Independent No
Helen Haines Indi Independent No
Monique Ryan Kooyong Independent No
Sophie Scamps Mackellar Independent No
Allegra Spender Wentworth Independent No
Zali Steggall Warringah Independent No
Kylea Tink North Sydney Independent No
Andrew Wilkie Clark Independent No
Dai Le Fowler Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Katter's Australian Party Yes
Liberal National Party (25% turnout) 2 Yes 0 No
Garth Hamilton Groom Yes
Andrew Willcox Dawson Yes
Angie Bell Moncrieff Absent
Colin Boyce Flynn Absent
Henry Pike Bowman Absent
Phillip Thompson Herbert Absent
Andrew Wallace Fisher Absent
Terry Young Longman Absent
Liberal Party (31% turnout) 11 Yes 0 No
Ian Goodenough Moore Yes
Andrew Hastie Canning Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Melissa McIntosh Lindsay Yes
Tony Pasin Barker Yes
Melissa Price Durack Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Dan Tehan Wannon Yes
Bert Van Manen Forde Yes
Rick Wilson O'Connor Yes
Karen Andrews McPherson Absent
Bridget Archer Bass Absent
Russell Broadbent Monash Absent
Scott Buchholz Wright Absent
David Coleman Banks Absent
Peter Dutton Dickson Absent
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Absent
Paul Fletcher Bradfield Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Luke Howarth Petrie Absent
Julian Leeser Berowra Absent
Zoe McKenzie Flinders Absent
Scott Morrison Cook Absent
Ted O'Brien Fairfax Absent
Gavin Pearce Braddon Absent
Stuart Robert Fadden Absent
James Stevens Sturt Absent
Michael Sukkar Deakin Absent
Angus Taylor Hume Absent
Alan Tudge Aston Absent
Ross Vasta Bonner Absent
Aaron Violi Casey Absent
Jenny Ware Hughes Absent
Keith Wolahan Menzies Absent
Jason Wood La Trobe Absent
National Party (38% turnout) 5 Yes 0 No
Sam Birrell Nicholls Yes
Barnaby Joyce New England Yes
David Littleproud Maranoa Yes
Michael McCormack Riverina Yes
Anne Webster Mallee Yes
Darren Chester Gippsland Absent
Pat Conaghan Cowper Absent
Andrew Gee Calare Absent
David Gillespie Lyne Absent
Kevin Hogan Page Absent
Michelle Landry Capricornia Absent
Llew O'Brien Wide Bay Absent
Keith Pitt Hinkler Absent
Milton Dick Oxley Speaker Absent
Totals (28% turnout) 30 Yes – 13 No