The majority voted against a series of amendments introduced by Liberal MP Greg Hunt. This means that the amendments will not be proceeding.

Briefly, Hunt MP explained that the amendments would have done the following:(You can read his whole explanation here. )

  • "a full and complete decoupling of the energy intensive sector from the emissions trading scheme"
  • "ensure that the 35½ thousand gigawatt hours of new energy carries with it a 90 per cent exemption for the aluminium sector, because it is perhaps the most energy-intensive and trade-exposed sector of all"
  • "guarantee security for the food processing sector"
  • "ensure that a loophole in relation to the heat pump sector is dealt with"
  • "achieve a target of 8,875 gigawatt hours by 2020, or exactly one-quarter of the 35,500 gigawatt hours of additional energy contained in this bill as the new and additional renewable energy target ... [and] ensure that that quarter ... is reserved for the emerging technologies"

Background to the bills

These three bills were introduced as a package to separate the existing Renewable Energy Target (RET) scheme into two parts: the Large-scale Renewable Energy Target (LRET) and the Small-scale Renewable Energy Scheme (SRES).(Read more about the RET scheme here and here. ) This split recognises the difference in scale between the household and industrial sectors.

The RET scheme was first introduced by the Howard Government in 2001 with the Renewable Energy (Electricity) Bill 2000. It supports renewable energy by requiring large buyers of electricity to source a greater percentage of electricity from renewable sources.(Read more about this original bill in its bills digest (1.5 MB).)

The three bills are:


Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Labor Party (89% turnout) 0 Yes 72 No
Dick Adams Lyons No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Arch Bevis Brisbane No
James Bidgood Dawson No
David Bradbury Lindsay No
Tony Burke Watson No
Mark Butler Port Adelaide No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Jodie Campbell Bass No
Nick Champion Wakefield No
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Greg Combet Charlton No
Simon Crean Hotham No
Yvette D'Ath Petrie No
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports No
Bob Debus Macquarie No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Annette Ellis Canberra No
Kate Ellis Adelaide No
Craig Emerson Rankin No
Laurie Ferguson Reid No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith No
Jennie George Throsby No
Steve Gibbons Bendigo No
Sharon Grierson Newcastle No
Alan Griffin Bruce No
Damian Hale Solomon No
Jill Hall Shortland No
Chris Hayes Werriwa No
Julia Irwin Fowler No
Sharryn Jackson Hasluck No
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro No
Duncan Kerr Denison No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia No
Richard Marles Corio No
Robert McClelland Barton No
Maxine McKew Bennelong No
Bob McMullan Fraser No
Daryl Melham Banks No
John Murphy Lowe No
Belinda Neal Robertson No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Julie Owens Parramatta No
Melissa Parke Fremantle No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Roger Price Chifley No
Brett Raguse Forde No
Kerry Rea Bonner No
Bernie Ripoll Oxley No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand No
Janelle Saffin Page No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
Sid Sidebottom Braddon No
Stephen Smith Perth No
Warren Snowdon Lingiari No
Jon Sullivan Longman No
Wayne Swan Lilley No
Mike Symon Deakin No
Craig Thomson Dobell No
Kelvin Thomson Wills No
Chris Trevor Flynn No
Jim Turnour Leichhardt No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Sharon Bird Cunningham Absent
Chris Bowen Prospect Absent
Martin Ferguson Batman Absent
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh Absent
Julia Gillard Lalor Absent
Gary Gray Brand Absent
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Absent
Kevin Rudd Griffith Absent
Lindsay Tanner Melbourne Absent
Anna Burke Chisholm Deputy Speaker Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent Yes
Robert Oakeshott Lyne Independent No
Tony Windsor New England Independent Absent
Liberal Party (91% turnout) 50 Yes 0 No
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Fran Bailey McEwen Yes
Bob Baldwin Paterson Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Julie Bishop Curtin Yes
Jamie Briggs Mayo Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Yes
Peter Costello Higgins Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Joanna Gash Gilmore Yes
Petro Georgiou Kooyong Yes
Barry Haase Kalgoorlie Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
David Hawker Wannon Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Steve Irons Swan Yes
Dennis Jensen Tangney Yes
Michael Johnson Ryan Yes
Michael Keenan Stirling Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Peter Lindsay Herbert Yes
Ian Macfarlane Groom Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Louise Markus Greenway Yes
Sophie Mirabella Indi Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Judi Moylan Pearce Yes
Brendan Nelson Bradfield Yes
Chris Pearce Aston Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Don Randall Canning Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Philip Ruddock Berowra Yes
Alby Schultz Hume Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Luke Simpkins Cowan Yes
Peter Slipper Fisher Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Yes
Andrew Southcott Boothby Yes
Sharman Stone Murray Yes
Wilson Tuckey O'Connor Yes
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Yes
Danna Vale Hughes Yes
Mal Washer Moore Yes
Jason Wood La Trobe Yes
Tony Abbott Warringah Absent
Bruce Billson Dunkley Absent
Pat Farmer Macarthur Absent
Margaret May McPherson Absent
Andrew Robb Goldstein Absent
National Party (100% turnout) 9 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
John Cobb Calare Yes
Mark Coulton Parkes Yes
John Forrest Mallee Yes
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper Yes
Kay Hull Riverina Yes
Paul Neville Hinkler Yes
Bruce Scott Maranoa Yes
Warren Truss Wide Bay Yes
Harry Jenkins Scullin Speaker Absent
Totals (89% turnout) 60 Yes – 73 No