The majority voted against a motion introduced by Leader of the Opposition Malcolm Turnbull, which means that it was unsuccessful. The motion was:

That so much of the standing and sessional orders be suspended as would prevent the Leader of the Opposition from moving immediately - That the House of Representatives: (1) recognises that the Prime Minister and his Government: (a) have acknowledged that it is virtually impossible for single age pensioners to meet essential expenses on the current pension rate, yet have refused to act and instead expect struggling pensioners to wait until yet another review is completed; and (b) have a responsibility to act immediately to ensure that the entire pension payment system appropriately addresses these pressures; (2) affirms the urgency of the Coalition’s pension bill in proposing to: (a) increase the single age pension, single age service pension and the Widow B pension by $30 per week; (b) provide immediate relief to single age pensioners, single age service pensioners and Widow B pensioners struggling with the rising cost of living pressures; and (c) provide the first step in ensuring that the Government acts immediately and accepts its responsibilities to take the urgent action required to assist all pensioners; (3) demands that the Government: (a) allow the Opposition proposal to be debated immediately and in doing so, reflect the will of the Senate in passing the Urgent Relief for Single Age Pensioners Bill 2008 last night; and (b) recognise the urgency of the Coalition’s bill and support its enactment without further delay; and (4) should it refuse to deal with the Coalition’s bill, demands that the Acting Prime Minister immediately introduce the Urgent Relief for Single Age Pensioners Bill 2008 in the House of Representatives with full knowledge that it will pass through this place and through the Senate.

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Labor Party (95% turnout) 0 Yes 77 No
Dick Adams Lyons No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
James Bidgood Dawson No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen Prospect No
David Bradbury Lindsay No
Tony Burke Watson No
Mark Butler Port Adelaide No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Jodie Campbell Bass No
Nick Champion Wakefield No
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite No
Jason Clare Blaxland No
Julie Collins Franklin No
Greg Combet Charlton No
Simon Crean Hotham No
Yvette D'Ath Petrie No
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports No
Bob Debus Macquarie No
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Annette Ellis Canberra No
Kate Ellis Adelaide No
Craig Emerson Rankin No
Laurie Ferguson Reid No
Martin Ferguson Batman No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith No
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh No
Jennie George Throsby No
Steve Gibbons Bendigo No
Julia Gillard Lalor No
Gary Gray Brand No
Sharon Grierson Newcastle No
Alan Griffin Bruce No
Damian Hale Solomon No
Chris Hayes Werriwa No
Julia Irwin Fowler No
Sharryn Jackson Hasluck No
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro No
Duncan Kerr Denison No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia No
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga No
Richard Marles Corio No
Robert McClelland Barton No
Maxine McKew Bennelong No
Bob McMullan Fraser No
Daryl Melham Banks No
John Murphy Lowe No
Belinda Neal Robertson No
Shayne Neumann Blair No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Julie Owens Parramatta No
Melissa Parke Fremantle No
Graham Perrett Moreton No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Roger Price Chifley No
Brett Raguse Forde No
Kerry Rea Bonner No
Bernie Ripoll Oxley No
Amanda Rishworth Kingston No
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand No
Janelle Saffin Page No
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong No
Sid Sidebottom Braddon No
Warren Snowdon Lingiari No
Jon Sullivan Longman No
Wayne Swan Lilley No
Mike Symon Deakin No
Lindsay Tanner Melbourne No
Craig Thomson Dobell No
Kelvin Thomson Wills No
Chris Trevor Flynn No
Jim Turnour Leichhardt No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Tony Zappia Makin No
Arch Bevis Brisbane Absent
Jill Hall Shortland Absent
Kevin Rudd Griffith Absent
Stephen Smith Perth Absent
Anna Burke Chisholm Deputy Speaker No
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent Yes
Robert Oakeshott Lyne Independent Yes
Tony Windsor New England Independent Yes
Liberal Party (85% turnout) 47 Yes 0 No
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Bruce Billson Dunkley Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Julie Bishop Curtin Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Yes
Peter Costello Higgins Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Pat Farmer Macarthur Yes
Petro Georgiou Kooyong Yes
Barry Haase Kalgoorlie Yes
Alex Hawke Mitchell Yes
David Hawker Wannon Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Steve Irons Swan Yes
Dennis Jensen Tangney Yes
Michael Johnson Ryan Yes
Michael Keenan Stirling Yes
Peter Lindsay Herbert Yes
Ian Macfarlane Groom Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Louise Markus Greenway Yes
Margaret May McPherson Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Judi Moylan Pearce Yes
Brendan Nelson Bradfield Yes
Chris Pearce Aston Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Don Randall Canning Yes
Andrew Robb Goldstein Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Philip Ruddock Berowra Yes
Alby Schultz Hume Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Luke Simpkins Cowan Yes
Peter Slipper Fisher Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Yes
Andrew Southcott Boothby Yes
Sharman Stone Murray Yes
Wilson Tuckey O'Connor Yes
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Yes
Danna Vale Hughes Yes
Mal Washer Moore Yes
Jason Wood La Trobe Yes
Tony Abbott Warringah Absent
Fran Bailey McEwen Absent
Bob Baldwin Paterson Absent
Jamie Briggs Mayo Absent
Joanna Gash Gilmore Absent
Andrew Laming Bowman Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Sophie Mirabella Indi Absent
National Party (78% turnout) 7 Yes 0 No
Darren Chester Gippsland Yes
John Forrest Mallee Yes
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper Yes
Kay Hull Riverina Yes
Paul Neville Hinkler Yes
Bruce Scott Maranoa Yes
Warren Truss Wide Bay Yes
John Cobb Calare Absent
Mark Coulton Parkes Absent
Harry Jenkins Scullin Speaker Absent
Totals (90% turnout) 57 Yes – 78 No