The majority voted in favour of a motion to read the bill for a third time.(Read more about the stages that bills must pass through to become law here. ) This means that the majority agree with the bill and that it will now be sent to the Senate for their consideration.

Background to the bill

Australia's wheat export market currently operates under a ' single desk' policy. This means that bulk wheat exports are directed through a single exporter of bulk wheat under the Australian Wheat Board International Limited (AWB International). The Export Wheat Commission manages the export of non-bulk wheat (that is, bagged or container wheat).

The Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008 was introduced with the Wheat Export Marketing (Repeal and Consequential Amendments) Bill 2008 to establish a wheat export accreditation scheme, which will be regulated through a new statutory body called the Wheat Exports Australia.(Read more about the bills in their bills digests. The digest for the Wheat Export Marketing Bill 2008 is available here (198 KB). The digest for the Wheat Export Marketing (Repeal and Consequential Amendments) Bill 2008 is available here (53.1 KB).) This introduces competition into the bulk wheat export market. As explained by the explanatory memorandum, "[r]ather than forcing growers to sell their wheat through a single exporter they will be able to choose from a number of accredited exporters as well as domestic outlets."


Votes Passed by a large majority

There were 2 rebellions in this division.

  • Mark Vaile voted Yes against the majority of the National Party.
  • Danna Vale voted No against the majority of the Liberal Party.
Party Votes
Australian Labor Party (83% turnout) 67 Yes 0 No
Dick Adams Lyons Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Arch Bevis Brisbane Yes
James Bidgood Dawson Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen Prospect Yes
David Bradbury Lindsay Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Mark Butler Port Adelaide Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Jodie Campbell Bass Yes
Nick Champion Wakefield Yes
Darren Cheeseman Corangamite Yes
Jason Clare Blaxland Yes
Julie Collins Franklin Yes
Greg Combet Charlton Yes
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports Yes
Mark Dreyfus Isaacs Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Annette Ellis Canberra Yes
Kate Ellis Adelaide Yes
Craig Emerson Rankin Yes
Laurie Ferguson Reid Yes
Martin Ferguson Batman Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith Yes
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh Yes
Jennie George Throsby Yes
Steve Gibbons Bendigo Yes
Gary Gray Brand Yes
Sharon Grierson Newcastle Yes
Alan Griffin Bruce Yes
Damian Hale Solomon Yes
Jill Hall Shortland Yes
Chris Hayes Werriwa Yes
Sharryn Jackson Hasluck Yes
Mike Kelly Eden-Monaro Yes
Duncan Kerr Denison Yes
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia Yes
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Yes
Richard Marles Corio Yes
Robert McClelland Barton Yes
Maxine McKew Bennelong Yes
Bob McMullan Fraser Yes
Daryl Melham Banks Yes
John Murphy Lowe Yes
Belinda Neal Robertson Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Melissa Parke Fremantle Yes
Graham Perrett Moreton Yes
Roger Price Chifley Yes
Brett Raguse Forde Yes
Kerry Rea Bonner Yes
Bernie Ripoll Oxley Yes
Amanda Rishworth Kingston Yes
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand Yes
Janelle Saffin Page Yes
Bill Shorten Maribyrnong Yes
Sid Sidebottom Braddon Yes
Jon Sullivan Longman Yes
Mike Symon Deakin Yes
Lindsay Tanner Melbourne Yes
Craig Thomson Dobell Yes
Kelvin Thomson Wills Yes
Chris Trevor Flynn Yes
Jim Turnour Leichhardt Yes
Tony Zappia Makin Yes
Simon Crean Hotham Absent
Yvette D'Ath Petrie Absent
Bob Debus Macquarie Absent
Julia Gillard Lalor Absent
Julia Irwin Fowler Absent
Catherine King Ballarat Absent
Shayne Neumann Blair Absent
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Absent
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Absent
Kevin Rudd Griffith Absent
Stephen Smith Perth Absent
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Absent
Wayne Swan Lilley Absent
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Absent
Anna Burke Chisholm Deputy Speaker Yes
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent No
Tony Windsor New England Independent No
Liberal Party (82% turnout) 44 Yes 1 No
Tony Abbott Warringah Yes
Fran Bailey McEwen Yes
Bob Baldwin Paterson Yes
Bruce Billson Dunkley Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Julie Bishop Curtin Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Yes
Alexander Downer Mayo Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Petro Georgiou Kooyong Yes
Barry Haase Kalgoorlie Yes
David Hawker Wannon Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Steve Irons Swan Yes
Dennis Jensen Tangney Yes
Michael Johnson Ryan Yes
Michael Keenan Stirling Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Ian Macfarlane Groom Yes
Nola Marino Forrest Yes
Louise Markus Greenway Yes
Margaret May McPherson Yes
Sophie Mirabella Indi Yes
Scott Morrison Cook Yes
Brendan Nelson Bradfield Yes
Chris Pearce Aston Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Rowan Ramsey Grey Yes
Don Randall Canning Yes
Andrew Robb Goldstein Yes
Stuart Robert Fadden Yes
Alby Schultz Hume Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Luke Simpkins Cowan Yes
Peter Slipper Fisher Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Yes
Andrew Southcott Boothby Yes
Sharman Stone Murray Yes
Wilson Tuckey O'Connor Yes
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Yes
Mal Washer Moore Yes
Jason Wood La Trobe Yes
Danna Vale Hughes No
Kevin Andrews Menzies Absent
Peter Costello Higgins Absent
Pat Farmer Macarthur Absent
Joanna Gash Gilmore Absent
Alex Hawke Mitchell Absent
Greg Hunt Flinders Absent
Sussan Ley Farrer Absent
Peter Lindsay Herbert Absent
Judi Moylan Pearce Absent
Philip Ruddock Berowra Absent
National Party (89% turnout) 1 Yes 7 No
Mark Vaile Lyne Yes
John Cobb Calare No
Mark Coulton Parkes No
John Forrest Mallee No
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper No
Kay Hull Riverina No
Paul Neville Hinkler No
Warren Truss Wide Bay No
Bruce Scott Maranoa Absent
Harry Jenkins Scullin Speaker Absent
Totals (83% turnout) 113 Yes – 10 No