The majority voted in favour of a motion "That the words proposed to be omitted (Ms Roxon’s amendment) stand part of the question." In other words, the majority wanted the original motion to remain unchanged and therefore disagreed with Labor MP Nicola Roxon's amendment.

The original motion was "That this bill be now read a second time."(Read more about the stages that a bill must pass through to become law here. ) To this, Ms Roxon proposed the following amendment:

"That all words after ‘That’ be omitted with a view to substituting the following words: ‘whilst not declining to give the bill a second reading the Opposition believes that the bill fails to give equal treatment to all judges by not treating judges in same-sex de facto relationships in the same way as heterosexual judges and their spouses or de facto spouses, and calls on the Government to amend the bill in order to give judges in same-sex relationships equal treatment’."

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced in response to recent reductions in the superannuation surcharge rate.(Read more about the background to the bill in its bills digest. ) It amends the Judges’ Pensions Act 1968 in order to insert a definition of ‘salary’ for pension purposes and fix technical deficiencies in the superannuation surcharge formula in relation to:

  • reduced rates of surcharge in 2003-04 and 2004-05;
  • treatment of invalidity and death benefits; and
  • payments made to discharge in part a judge’s surcharge debt.(More information about the bill, including its explanatory memorandum, is available here.)

Votes Passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Labor Party (76% turnout) 0 Yes 45 No
Anthony Albanese Grayndler No
Sharon Bird Cunningham No
Chris Bowen Prospect No
Anna Burke Chisholm No
Tony Burke Watson No
Anthony Byrne Holt No
Ann Corcoran Isaacs No
Simon Crean Hotham No
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports No
Justine Elliot Richmond No
Kate Ellis Adelaide No
Craig Emerson Rankin No
Laurie Ferguson Reid No
Martin Ferguson Batman No
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter No
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith No
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh No
Jennie George Throsby No
Julia Gillard Lalor No
Sharon Grierson Newcastle No
Michael Hatton Blaxland No
Chris Hayes Werriwa No
Julia Irwin Fowler No
Duncan Kerr Denison No
Catherine King Ballarat No
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia No
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga No
Robert McClelland Barton No
Bob McMullan Fraser No
Daryl Melham Banks No
John Murphy Lowe No
Brendan O'Connor Gorton No
Gavan O'Connor Corio No
Julie Owens Parramatta No
Tanya Plibersek Sydney No
Roger Price Chifley No
Bernie Ripoll Oxley No
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand No
Rod Sawford Port Adelaide No
Bob Sercombe Maribyrnong No
Warren Snowdon Lingiari No
Lindsay Tanner Melbourne No
Kelvin Thomson Wills No
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell No
Kim Wilkie Swan No
Dick Adams Lyons Absent
Kim Beazley Brand Absent
Arch Bevis Brisbane Absent
Graham Edwards Cowan Absent
Annette Ellis Canberra Absent
Steve Gibbons Bendigo Absent
Alan Griffin Bruce Absent
Jill Hall Shortland Absent
Kelly Hoare Charlton Absent
Harry Jenkins Scullin Absent
Carmen Lawrence Fremantle Absent
Kevin Rudd Griffith Absent
Stephen Smith Perth Absent
Wayne Swan Lilley Absent
Dave Tollner Solomon Country Liberal Party Yes
Ian Causley Page Deputy Speaker Absent
Harry Quick Franklin Independent No
Peter Andren Calare Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent Absent
Tony Windsor New England Independent Absent
Liberal Party (92% turnout) 67 Yes 0 No
Tony Abbott Warringah Yes
Kevin Andrews Menzies Yes
Fran Bailey McEwen Yes
Bruce Baird Cook Yes
Mark Baker Braddon Yes
Bob Baldwin Paterson Yes
Phillip Barresi Deakin Yes
Kerry Bartlett Macquarie Yes
Bruce Billson Dunkley Yes
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar Yes
Julie Bishop Curtin Yes
Russell Broadbent McMillan Yes
Mal Brough Longman Yes
Alan Cadman Mitchell Yes
Peter Costello Higgins Yes
Alexander Downer Mayo Yes
Trish Draper Makin Yes
Peter Dutton Dickson Yes
Warren Entsch Leichhardt Yes
Pat Farmer Macarthur Yes
David Fawcett Wakefield Yes
Michael Ferguson Bass Yes
Joanna Gash Gilmore Yes
Petro Georgiou Kooyong Yes
Barry Haase Kalgoorlie Yes
Gary Hardgrave Moreton Yes
Stuart Henry Hasluck Yes
Joe Hockey North Sydney Yes
Greg Hunt Flinders Yes
Dennis Jensen Tangney Yes
Michael Johnson Ryan Yes
Michael Keenan Stirling Yes
Jackie Kelly Lindsay Yes
Andrew Laming Bowman Yes
Sussan Ley Farrer Yes
Peter Lindsay Herbert Yes
Jim Lloyd Robertson Yes
Ian Macfarlane Groom Yes
Louise Markus Greenway Yes
Margaret May McPherson Yes
Stewart McArthur Corangamite Yes
Sophie Mirabella Indi Yes
Judi Moylan Pearce Yes
Gary Nairn Eden-Monaro Yes
Brendan Nelson Bradfield Yes
Chris Pearce Aston Yes
Geoff Prosser Forrest Yes
Christopher Pyne Sturt Yes
Don Randall Canning Yes
Kym Richardson Kingston Yes
Andrew Robb Goldstein Yes
Philip Ruddock Berowra Yes
Alby Schultz Hume Yes
Patrick Secker Barker Yes
Peter Slipper Fisher Yes
Tony Smith Casey Yes
Andrew Southcott Boothby Yes
Sharman Stone Murray Yes
Cameron Thompson Blair Yes
Ken Ticehurst Dobell Yes
Wilson Tuckey O'Connor Yes
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth Yes
Danna Vale Hughes Yes
Ross Vasta Bonner Yes
Barry Wakelin Grey Yes
Mal Washer Moore Yes
Jason Wood La Trobe Yes
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff Absent
Kay Elson Forde Absent
Teresa Gambaro Petrie Absent
John Howard Bennelong Absent
David Jull Fadden Absent
Alex Somlyay Fairfax Absent
National Party (73% turnout) 8 Yes 0 No
John Anderson Gwydir Yes
John Cobb Parkes Yes
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper Yes
Kay Hull Riverina Yes
De-Anne Kelly Dawson Yes
Paul Neville Hinkler Yes
Bruce Scott Maranoa Yes
Warren Truss Wide Bay Yes
John Forrest Mallee Absent
Peter McGauran Gippsland Absent
Mark Vaile Lyne Absent
David Hawker Wannon Speaker Absent
Totals (81% turnout) 76 Yes – 46 No