This division relates to the Policy For the NT National Emergency Response.

The majority voted against amendments introduced by Labor MP Jenny Macklin, which means that they were rejected.

Ms Macklin explained the purpose of each of the six amendments in the following way:

"Amendment (1) is the same as the amendment that we moved to the other two bills that would clarify that the measures in the bill are special measures under the Racial Discrimination Act, so I will not repeat the remarks that I made earlier. Amendments (2), (3), (4) and (5) relate to the permit system. Amendment (5) opposes the government’s removal of the permit system on roads and common areas in towns. ... What we are trying to do with amendment (6) is to give the land councils the right to ask the minister to revoke a permit if there are reasonable grounds to believe that the person to whom he has issued a permit is of bad character."(Read Ms Macklin's full explanation and the related debate here. )

Background to the bill

The bill was introduced along with four other bills:

This legislation was introduced in response to the Report of the Northern Territory Board of Inquiry into the Protection of Aboriginal Children from Sexual Abuse, known as the Little Children are Sacred report, which was publicly released on 15 June 2007.(Read more about the background of the bills in the interim bills digest. ) That report came after concerns were raised on ABC's Lateline program in 2006.(Read the transcript for the Lateline programs that addressed the issue of child abuse in Indigenous communities in the Northern Territory here (the May 2006 program) and here (the June 2006 program).)

Votes Not passed by a small majority

Nobody rebelled against their party.

Party Votes
Australian Labor Party (92% turnout) 54 Yes 0 No
Dick Adams Lyons Yes
Anthony Albanese Grayndler Yes
Kim Beazley Brand Yes
Arch Bevis Brisbane Yes
Sharon Bird Cunningham Yes
Chris Bowen Prospect Yes
Anna Burke Chisholm Yes
Tony Burke Watson Yes
Anthony Byrne Holt Yes
Ann Corcoran Isaacs Yes
Simon Crean Hotham Yes
Michael Danby Melbourne Ports Yes
Graham Edwards Cowan Yes
Justine Elliot Richmond Yes
Annette Ellis Canberra Yes
Kate Ellis Adelaide Yes
Craig Emerson Rankin Yes
Laurie Ferguson Reid Yes
Joel Fitzgibbon Hunter Yes
Peter Garrett Kingsford Smith Yes
Jennie George Throsby Yes
Steve Gibbons Bendigo Yes
Julia Gillard Lalor Yes
Sharon Grierson Newcastle Yes
Alan Griffin Bruce Yes
Jill Hall Shortland Yes
Michael Hatton Blaxland Yes
Chris Hayes Werriwa Yes
Julia Irwin Fowler Yes
Harry Jenkins Scullin Yes
Duncan Kerr Denison Yes
Catherine King Ballarat Yes
Kirsten Livermore Capricornia Yes
Jenny Macklin Jagajaga Yes
Robert McClelland Barton Yes
Bob McMullan Fraser Yes
Daryl Melham Banks Yes
John Murphy Lowe Yes
Brendan O'Connor Gorton Yes
Gavan O'Connor Corio Yes
Julie Owens Parramatta Yes
Tanya Plibersek Sydney Yes
Roger Price Chifley Yes
Bernie Ripoll Oxley Yes
Kevin Rudd Griffith Yes
Rod Sawford Port Adelaide Yes
Bob Sercombe Maribyrnong Yes
Stephen Smith Perth Yes
Warren Snowdon Lingiari Yes
Wayne Swan Lilley Yes
Lindsay Tanner Melbourne Yes
Kelvin Thomson Wills Yes
Maria Vamvakinou Calwell Yes
Kim Wilkie Swan Yes
Martin Ferguson Batman Absent
Steve Georganas Hindmarsh Absent
Kelly Hoare Charlton Absent
Carmen Lawrence Fremantle Absent
Nicola Roxon Gellibrand Absent
Dave Tollner Solomon Country Liberal Party No
Ian Causley Page Deputy Speaker No
Harry Quick Franklin Independent Yes
Peter Andren Calare Independent Absent
Bob Katter Kennedy Independent Absent
Tony Windsor New England Independent Absent
Liberal Party (88% turnout) 0 Yes 64 No
Kevin Andrews Menzies No
Fran Bailey McEwen No
Bruce Baird Cook No
Mark Baker Braddon No
Bob Baldwin Paterson No
Phillip Barresi Deakin No
Kerry Bartlett Macquarie No
Bruce Billson Dunkley No
Bronwyn Bishop Mackellar No
Julie Bishop Curtin No
Russell Broadbent McMillan No
Mal Brough Longman No
Steven Ciobo Moncrieff No
Peter Dutton Dickson No
Kay Elson Forde No
Warren Entsch Leichhardt No
Pat Farmer Macarthur No
David Fawcett Wakefield No
Michael Ferguson Bass No
Teresa Gambaro Petrie No
Joanna Gash Gilmore No
Petro Georgiou Kooyong No
Barry Haase Kalgoorlie No
Gary Hardgrave Moreton No
Stuart Henry Hasluck No
Greg Hunt Flinders No
Dennis Jensen Tangney No
Michael Johnson Ryan No
David Jull Fadden No
Michael Keenan Stirling No
Jackie Kelly Lindsay No
Andrew Laming Bowman No
Sussan Ley Farrer No
Peter Lindsay Herbert No
Ian Macfarlane Groom No
Louise Markus Greenway No
Margaret May McPherson No
Stewart McArthur Corangamite No
Sophie Mirabella Indi No
Judi Moylan Pearce No
Brendan Nelson Bradfield No
Chris Pearce Aston No
Geoff Prosser Forrest No
Christopher Pyne Sturt No
Don Randall Canning No
Kym Richardson Kingston No
Andrew Robb Goldstein No
Philip Ruddock Berowra No
Alby Schultz Hume No
Patrick Secker Barker No
Peter Slipper Fisher No
Tony Smith Casey No
Alex Somlyay Fairfax No
Andrew Southcott Boothby No
Sharman Stone Murray No
Cameron Thompson Blair No
Ken Ticehurst Dobell No
Wilson Tuckey O'Connor No
Malcolm Turnbull Wentworth No
Danna Vale Hughes No
Ross Vasta Bonner No
Barry Wakelin Grey No
Mal Washer Moore No
Jason Wood La Trobe No
Tony Abbott Warringah Absent
Alan Cadman Mitchell Absent
Peter Costello Higgins Absent
Alexander Downer Mayo Absent
Trish Draper Makin Absent
Joe Hockey North Sydney Absent
John Howard Bennelong Absent
Jim Lloyd Robertson Absent
Gary Nairn Eden-Monaro Absent
National Party (73% turnout) 0 Yes 8 No
John Anderson Gwydir No
Luke Hartsuyker Cowper No
Kay Hull Riverina No
De-Anne Kelly Dawson No
Peter McGauran Gippsland No
Paul Neville Hinkler No
Bruce Scott Maranoa No
Warren Truss Wide Bay No
John Cobb Parkes Absent
John Forrest Mallee Absent
Mark Vaile Lyne Absent
David Hawker Wannon Speaker Absent
Totals (86% turnout) 55 Yes – 74 No